2017 Postseason NISC Tournament Bracket Announced

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – The National Invitational Softball Championships (NISC) announced Sunday the teams making up the six regionals that will set into motion this unique postseason opportunity for D-I softball programs.

The action begins Tuesday, May 16 – regional hosts are Pacific, Weber State, Illinois State, Lamar, Georgia State and Liberty. Each double-elimination regional concludes play Thursday, May 18; the six-team Championship Round, also double elimination, will run May 21-24 at a host site to be determined.

Here’s the list of qualifiers for the NISC:

Kennesaw State (Atlantic Sun) – Automatic Qualifier
Michigan State (Big Ten) – AQ
Weber State (Big Sky) – AQ
Liberty (Big South) – AQ
Iona (Metro Atlantic) – AQ
Ohio (Mid-American) – AQ
Illinois State (Missouri Valley) – AQ
Utah State (Mountain West) – AQ
UT Martin (Ohio Valley) – AQ
Abilene Christian (Southland) – AQ
IUPUI (Summit) – AQ
Georgia State (Sun Belt) – AQ
Alabama State (SWAC) – AQ
Pacific (West Coast) – AQ
UC Santa Barbara (Big West) – AQ
Cal Poly (Big West) – National RPI
UNCW (Colonial) – National RPI
Western Kentucky (Conference USA) – National RPI
Nevada (Mountain West) – National RPI
Boise State (Mountain West) – National RPI
Murray State (Ohio Valley) – National RPI
UT Arlington (Sun Belt) – National RPI
Campbell (Big South) – At Large
Lamar (Southland) – At Large
UL Monroe (Sun Belt) – At Large
San Diego (West Coast) – At Large

The 15 Automatic Qualifiers are the teams with the best regular-season record in their respective conferences that are not playing in the 64-team NCAA Tournament.  Six of these teams finished first in their conference for the regular season (Liberty, Iona, Illinois State, IUPUI, Ohio and Weber State).  The seven National RPI selections all ranked in the top 100 nationally; at-large teams were selected off their body of work.  Seventeen of the teams selected won 30 or more games this season.
“We couldn’t be happier with the depth of quality programs that earned their positions in the NISC,” said Dave King, tournament director and CEO of Triple Crown Sports, which is producing the event. “In talking with these teams, the sense of excitement is particularly strong for programs that haven’t had many chances at postseason play. Getting in more quality games and the opportunity to build positive momentum for next year can be critical for a team’s growth.”

Here are the first-round matchups on May 16 for each regional (all times local).  Home team listed second; based on RPI.

Region 1: Stockton, CA (Pacific hosts)

UC Santa Barbara (31-26) vs. Nevada (28-23), 1 p.m.
Pacific (27-24) vs. Cal Poly (34-19), 4 p.m.

Region 2: Ogden, UT (Weber State hosts)

San Diego (22-22) vs. Utah State (32-16), 1 p.m.
Weber State (33-19-1) vs. Boise State (30-18), 4 p.m.

Region 3: Normal, IL (Illinois State hosts)

Michigan State (31-22) vs. Murray State (35-18), 4 p.m.
IUPUI (23-29) vs. Illinois State (30-21), 7 p.m.

Region 4: Beaumont, TX (Lamar hosts)

Abilene Christian (32-20) vs. UT Arlington (32-26), 4 p.m.
Lamar (28-28) vs. UL Monroe (30-28), 7 p.m.

Region 5: Atlanta, GA (Georgia State hosts)

Alabama State (21-33) vs. Western Kentucky (29-29), 1 p.m.
Game 1 Winner vs. Kennesaw State (36-18), 4 p.m.
UT Martin (38-18) vs. Georgia State (34-23), 7 p.m.

Region 6: Lynchburg, VA (Liberty hosts)

Iona (26-22) vs. Campbell (29-27), 1 p.m.
Game 1 Winner vs. Ohio (39-16), 4 p.m.
UNCW (33-18) vs. Liberty (38-21), 7 p.m.

Ken Eriksen Returns As Head Coach Of 2019 USA Softball National Team

Want To Take FloSoftball Anywhere? Download The FloSports iOS App Today

OKLAHOMA CITY – USA Softball, the National Governing Body of Softball in the United States, is proud to announce that long-time Women’s National Team (WNT) leader Ken Eriksen (Tampa, Fla.) will once again serve as Head Coach for the 2019 USA Softball WNT.  

Junior Outfielder Sarah Hudek Leaves Texas A&M

21 Struggles Every Softball Player Knows

Texas A&M loses one of their top hitters, junior outfielder Sarah Hudek who will find a new home this upcoming 2019 season. 

Signing Day Spotlight: Ciara Briggs Becomes A Tiger

EXCLUSIVE Tiger Park Tour

Ciara Briggs made her LSU dream official last week when she signed with the powerhouse SEC team. 

Diamond Sports Hotshots Jones Joins Texas Bombers Organization

The Bomber Fastpitch Organization is excited to announce the brand new team out of the Houston area that will be joining us, called TX Bombers Gold 14U Jones. 

Signing Day Spotlight: No. 4 Recruit Jadelyn Allchin Signs With Washington

Welcome To University of Washington's Husky Softball Stadium

No. 4 overall recruit Jadelyn Allchin signed with the University of Washington and we won't be surprised if she becomes a future All-American. 

Lefty Pitcher Jordan Dail Transfers To Oregon

EUGENE, Ore. – The Oregon softball team has bolstered its roster for the upcoming 2019 season with the addition of left-handed pitcher Jordan Dail, head coach Melyssa Lombardi announced Friday morning.

Signing Day Spotlight: Maya Brady Signs With UCLA

13 Words That Mean Something Different To Softball Players

Maya Brady is the quintessential second baseman who is a smooth playmaker and fierce bat in the lineup for No. 1 Batbusters - Stith.

Signing Day Spotlight: Joley Mitchell Signs With Notre Dame

Joley Mitchell is one the most revered switch hitters in the country blasting 24 home runs during her high school season and 18 over the summer. 

Signing Day Spotlight: Jazmine Hill Signs With Arizona State

18 Things Only Softball Players Understand

One of the most dangerous hitters in the 2019 class is Jazmine Hill. Every top club program regarded Hill as one of the baddest hitters in the country.

Signing Day Spotlight: Paige Smith Becomes A Rebel

Every team wishes they had a Paige Smith on their roster. She is the definitive clutch-type player that has been the staple third baseman for the Athletics Mercado and Norco High School dynasty.